Thank God for Lent: Goodbye Southpaw (For Now!)

Southpaw

People always say: Give up food, TV, etc. for Lent! With Celiac Disease, I already have nothing really exiting to eat in my life, I’m already off TV and  I don’t drink Mountain Dews anymore…

So what am I giving up for Lent?

MY  NONFICTION TEEN LIT MANUSCRIPT!

I wrote 50,000 plus words for my NaNoWriMo for 2015 – and it was not fiction- but a nonfiction collective biography for middle/high school grades.  I am so involved into it! The name? Southpaw  (honestly, the Guy Edition ).   I tabled Southpaw in December to get my debut novel,   A Woman’s Choice (excuse me, time for the link: http://tinyurl.com/gr9ux9q). Since then, I have thrown myself into kids lit – ironic that I was once children’s librarian – and learning how to WRITE like a kids lit author. I did one contest, one manuscript, and reading kids lit every day. I also got Twitter Pitch tomorrow – and I so wanted to get SouthPaw done – but it didn’t happen.

However, my 2015 NaNoWriMo, Southpaw, became an obsession when January hit. I had to get this manuscript edited – this time, being nonfiction, I could do my own, but I found myself in rewrites upon rewrites after the editing was completed. I stayed awake at night – late. My nights and days were off. Other things began to creep in and my focus became off. I also had issues about going indie with Southpaw or pitching it – I decided to do both – and that was a further headache.

In short, the manuscript was driving me nuts. It was my passion – yes! However, it was becoming a headache at the same time.

Today is the big day to make a sacrifice on something important in our lives for Lent. I had not decided what to “give up for Lent.” I sat down on my laptop to post my weekly blog and it was obvious what my Lent “sacrifice” would be when the resentment, frustration, and obligation took over my chest.

I could not give up Southpaw for Lent! Am I nuts? I have a deadline to meet!

Yet the moment the idea came over me, I felt peace.

Are we allowed to give up something we obsess over for Lent? YES!

Are we allowed to give up something we must do for Lent that teaches us a lesson? YES!

“Give it up!” was the voice of my conscience.

“Do you know how many weeks that will be?” I said out-loud.

However, the decision was made. The decision is made. Southpaw is tabled. I got the manuscript off my PC, put on a cloud, and gave the jump-drive copy to a family member. It’s GONE – the only temptation is the cloud copy.

I feel between horrible and relieved: juxtaposed feelings on my Lent’s sacrifice. I know, in the end, I will come back ready to refocus and tackle the job of  rewrites in Southpaw (and figure out the direction it needs to go!).

About annehendrickswriter

Write. Write. Write.
This entry was posted in Lent, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

